top of page

The Art of Painting

One may ask what an artist feels when they paint? What motivates them? What inspires them?

Well, today I will share my own motivation and inspiration, the best that I can. It's not the easiest thing to explain, as I don't fully understand the depth and meaning of it myself. Ever since I was a child, I've been creating things. From nothing into something, that part of me has always come naturally. Growing up, I wanted to become a dog groomer like my Nana, but after taking art in high school I discovered my passion was art.

What is my inspiration and motivation for painting? The feeling painting gives me after the end result, and having the ability to create a colourful masterpiece that catches my eye and heart is definitely very motivating. Before I start a painting I have ideas, inspiration a clear mind and heart, and lots of passion. Without any of those things, it simply wont work. I've had periods in my life during tragedy and heartbreak when I just couldn't pick up a paintbrush. Sometimes I won't paint for months, simply because my heart and head are in no place to create. When I am in full heart artist mode I have no trouble picking up a paintbrush and filling up a empty canvas with a wide array of strokes, layers, medias and colors. When I paint I seem to dissolve everything within me into my art, my heart seems to just guide my hand and paintbrush into colors and strokes onto the canvas. In a way it feels very magical. I never really stress during a painting, its really the art of letting it all go, and it ends in a finished piece.

The most frustrating thing as an artist is when I want to paint, but I have no idea or inspiration to start a painting. It takes patience and some digging before starting a new painting. Painting is like going into your heart and pulling out everything and throwing it onto a blank canvas. You lose track of time, nothing is on your mind, just pure beautiful silence. It's very meditative. I always feel better after painting, and never feel sad while painting.

My style is definitely evident in all of my art, and what I see that as, is my reflection. Those are the colours and strokes of my soul. I paint mainly landscapes such as mountainscapes, tropical scenes, sunsets, sunrises and the northern lights. I can only paint what inspires me and those scenes all hold a special place in my heart, those are places I always want to be present in.

My hope is for people be able to look at my paintings and get a sense of happiness, and peace. I also want to inspire people to follow their passions and fulfill their dreams. I hope that they will be able to let their reflection shine and open their hearts to risks and adventure. If I can change one life, then it's worth it. Because in the end, it is not what you take with you, but what you leave behind.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page